Drumkit soundboard: audio lags screen touch

Anything libgdx related goes here!

Drumkit soundboard: audio lags screen touch

Postby tescott » Sat Apr 16, 2011 5:03 pm

I'm having a bit of trouble with getting my app to behave as I want it to, using libgdx and thought I'd post here for insight others might have.

I'm relatively new to libgdx and today I thought it would be fun to whip up a drum kit sound board to learn about audio and user input handling. I've got a total of four OGG samples defined: bass, snare, high hat, and crash cymbal. The idea behind the app is that when the user hits a certain part of the screen it makes a sound. Simple enough!

My app's main class implements the ApplicationListener and InputProcessor interfaces. All the create() method does is use Gdx.app.getAudio().newSound() to define some Sounds. The render() method is completely empty. I've got the touchDown() method setup to define the screen into four quadrants -- depending on which quadrant you touch defines which sound gets played.

It works great on the desktop and is really responsive to mouse clicks. On my HTC Incredible, however, there's a noticeable delay between the time that the screen is hit to the point where sound starts playing. It's bad enough that you can't keep any sort of rhythm going.

Does anybody have recommendations on how to zero in on what may be incurring the delay (or better yet -- get rid of it)? I see two areas where it could be occurring: 1) from the point the user touches the screen to the point that the touchDown() method is invoked, and 2) from the point the Sound's .play() method is invoked to the point that it actually starts to play. I guess another area of influence is just the general speed of the phone itself...

Anybody run into similar problems with lag between the user input and sound effects? What did you do to correct it?