Spriter Import

Any community contributions to libgdx go here! Some may get included in the core API when permission is granted.

Spriter Import

Postby Cyberchris » Wed Apr 11, 2012 7:19 am

Hello,
there exists a very interesting Kickstarter Project called Spriter: http://www.kickstarter.com/projects/539087245/spriter
It allows the user to create 2d-animations based on several images with keyframes and later skeletal animations and other stuff.

I have now written a first simple importer. Its is not optimized for performance, nor are all features yet implemented, but its working.

Attached is the eclipse-project and a video of the animation. I am not an artist. I will replace it as soon as I get one of the official examples.

What do you think? Could that be interesting for others, too?

Edit: I have updated the files. The video shows now a walking knight, which looks much cooler.
Edit(11.05.12): Update the files. Mainly cleaning up the source code

Bye,
Chris
Attachments
SCMLImporter.rar
The eclipse-project with the code (yet uncommented)
(14.25 MiB) Downloaded 1706 times
libgdx-spriter-Import.rar
a video showing the animation with the imported spriter file (walking knight).
(496.54 KiB) Downloaded 1191 times
Last edited by Cyberchris on Fri May 11, 2012 9:26 am, edited 3 times in total.
Cyberchris

Re: Spriter Import

Postby Magnesus » Wed Apr 11, 2012 8:03 am

Nice. Shame that the Spriter works only on Windows. :( Maybe I'll manage to run it using WINE, but it gives some DirectX error right now.
Magnesus

Postby Cyberchris » Wed Apr 11, 2012 8:32 am

They say, that the final product will be runnable on mac os.
Cyberchris

Postby lucid » Wed Apr 11, 2012 9:38 am

Hi! This is lucid(edgar) from the Spriter team.
Just wanted to clarify, the mac version is something we're plan to do after 1.0. The Kickstarter's stated goal is the completion of the current version.