Asking about game world

Talk about graphics, 3D models, nice sprite sheets, music, sound effects and anything related to the presentation of your game (not code :)).

Asking about game world

Postby Tanuki » Fri Aug 18, 2017 11:01 pm

Hi you guys, I'm a beginner here. I'm planing to make a simulation game but I get trouble about game world.

My game, I think it'll be a 2D or 2.5D. How did you create your game world? These asssets? Characters? Do I have to draw things or it have a library to use? If I have to draw, learn AI from begginner will take time? And how to put these assets together to create your world? I found Overlap2D but the website had been deleted... What should I do now?

Thank you very much. :)
Tanuki

Re: Asking about game world

Postby raeleus » Sat Aug 19, 2017 1:35 pm

You're asking about quite a number of different things and all of which can be approached a number of different ways.

Creating your own game assets is quite a subject you can get lost in. I create my art in Adobe Illustrator. You can use whatever you're comfortable with. There are free alternatives such as Inkscape, Gimp. All of which will take time an patience to learn. There are free assets on opengameart.org but it's hard to make a cohesive game of your own vision using just that. You can always hire an artist.

The next step from that is to use a tool like Spine to create animations. This is another subject to take some time and patience to learn. Spine is not free, but I would not make any game without it even with the most basic of designs. I really wish someone would have convinced me to start using it much sooner because it makes design so much easier.