OpenGL - Water Shaders 'following' camera.

Anything about development not directly related to libgdx, e.g. OpenGL, Android APIs etc.

OpenGL - Water Shaders 'following' camera.

Postby adamski433 » Thu Mar 22, 2018 7:56 pm

Hello all. Just wanted to say I'm a long timer lerker, first time poster. I've been beating my head against the desk for the better part of the day on this...

First thing's first, here's my problem: I have some water reflection shaders in my 2D game that I'm happy with, however when I transition rooms and my camera moves, the water effects look like they are 'stuck' to the camera rather than being fixed-points in the world.

https://i.imgur.com/KGYE2ab.gifv

Now I'll mention that I'm a real beginner when it comes to shaders. I feel like I got lucky getting to where I did. I'm using the libgdx-contribs/postprocessing library found here: https://github.com/manuelbua/libgdx-con ... processing for some effects like bloom, vignette, etc. For consistency, I have my water effect/filter extend the PostProccesorEffect and Filter from there.

Basically I'm just drawing my 'Water' layer to an FBO, passing it through the PostProccessorEffect's shader, then drawing it to the screen.

Here is my vertex shader:
Code: Select all
attribute vec4 a_position;
attribute vec4 a_texCoord0;
varying vec2 vertex_uv;

void main()
 {
    vertex_uv = vec2(a_texCoord0.x, a_texCoord0.y) ;
    gl_Position = a_position;
 }

and my fragment shader:
Code: Select all
varying vec2 vertex_uv;

uniform sampler2D u_texture0;
uniform sampler2D u_texture_displacement;
uniform sampler2D u_texture_displacement2;
uniform float time;

void
main (void)
{
vec4 color = vec4(1.0,1.0,1.0,1.0);
 /*
     Code grabbing displacement map values over time, then slightly brightening 'color' accordingly
  */

gl_FragColor      = texture2D(u_texture0, vertex_uv)*color;

}